Primary Wave on

*Audio also managed in Spotify App

Aloe Blacc, JoJo, Joe Walsh & More to Honor Smokey Robinson for PBS Gershwin Prize Music Special

November 4th, 2016


Aloe BlaccCorinne Bailey Rae, JoJo, Esperanza Spalding and Eagles’ Joe Walsh are among the performers who will pay tribute to music legend Smokey Robinson, this year’s recipient of the Library of Congress Gershwin Prize for Popular Song. The awards ceremony will be taped Nov. 16 and premiere as a music special on PBS stations nationwide on Feb. 10.

In addition to the aforementioned acts, the performer lineup includes CeeLo Green, Ledisi, Tegan Marie, Gallant, Kip Moore, The Tenors, BeBe Winans and Robinson himself. Motown founder Berry Gordy will also make a special appearance. The event, taking place at the Daughters of the American Revolution Constitution Hall in Washington, D.C., will be hosted by actor Samuel L. Jackson, with Greg Phillinganes as music director.

Robinson will join such previous Gershwin Prize honorees as Stevie Wonder, Paul McCartney, Carole King, Billy Joel and Willie Nelson.